

SPONSORED BY

EURASIP

CO-SPONSORED BY

IEEE Region 8
IEEE Croatia Section
University of Zagreb

GENERAL CHAIR

Branka Zovko-Cihlar University of Zagreb, Croatia

PROGRAM CO-CHAIRS

Sonja Grgic University of Zagreb, Croatia

Mislav Grgic University of Zagreb, Croatia

ORGANISERS

Paul Cristea, Romania Kalman Fazekas, Hungary Borko Furht, U.S.A. Tomislav Kos, Croatia Panos Liatsis, UK Marta Mrak, Croatia Pavol Podhradsky, Slovakia B. Medved Rogina, Croatia Karolj Skala, Croatia Nikola Sprljan, Croatia Krzysztof Wajda, Poland

INTERNATIONAL PROGRAM COMMITTEE

Please see reverse side.

CONTACT INFORMATION

Dr. Mislav Grgic EC-VIP-MC 2003 FER, Unska 3 / XII HR-10000 Zagreb CROATIA

Telephone: + 385 1 6129 851 Facsimile: + 385 1 6129 717

E-mail: vip@fer.hr

4th EURASIP Conference focused on

Video / Image Processing and Multimedia Communications

EC-VIP-MC 2003

2-5 July 2003 Zagreb, Croatia

CALL FOR PAPERS

The 4th EURASIP Conference focused on Video / Image Processing and Multimedia Communications (EC-VIP-MC) will be held at the Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Computing, University of Zagreb, Croatia, during 2-5 July 2003. The European Association for Speech, Signal and Image Processing (EURASIP) initiated this type of conference, in order to start a new tradition of conferences, each devoted to a specific area of discipline. The 2003 EURASIP Conference is the fourth biennial conference promoted by EURASIP and organised by Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Computing, University of Zagreb, Croatia. The first conference was organised in Prague, Czech Republic (1997), second in Krakow, Poland (1999), third in Budapest Hungary (2001). The aim of the EC-VIP-MC is to promote the interface of researchers involved in the development and application of methods and techniques within the framework of video/image processing and multimedia communications. The scientific program includes keynote and invited lecture by eminent international experts and contributed papers. Papers accepted by two independent reviewers will be published in Conference Proceedings available at the Conference and abstracted in the INSPEC database.

TOPICS

- Image and Video Processing
- · Image and Video Coding
- Image Scanning, Display and Printing
- Image and Video Indexing and Retrieval
- Speech and Audio Processing
- Watermarking and Encryption
- Digital Signal Processing (DSP)
- Digital Video Broadcasting (DVB)
- Video Streaming and Videoconferencing
- Multimedia Signal Processing
- Multimedia Databases
- Multimedia and DTV Technologies
- Multimedia Communications and Networking
- Multimedia Human-Machine Interface and Interaction
- Multimedia Applications
- Standards and Related Issues

KEYNOTE SPEAKERS

Professor Anthony G. Constantinides, Imperial College London, United Kingdom: On Contours, Corners and Cats: The Human Visual System and Image Processing

Professor Touradj Ebrahimi, EPFL, Switzerland:

Novel Frontiers in Multimedia Communications - New Media and Interfaces

Professor K. R. Rao, University of Texas at Arlington, USA: H.264/MPEG-4 Part 10 Advanced Video Coding

INVITED LECTURE

Professor Jiri Jan, Brno University of Technology, Czech Republic: Signal and Image Data Processing in Ultrasonic Imaging

SUBMISSION

To submit a proposal, prepare a full camera-ready paper on six pages. "Instructions for Authors" are available on our web-site. Please send your submission electronically in PDF format to our e-mail address: vip@fer.hr

SCHEDULE OF IMPORTANT DATES

Full camera-ready paper to be received by

Notification of acceptance mailed out by

Preliminary program available on the web-site by

Registration deadline

January 17, 2003

February 07, 2003

March 21, 2003

4th EURASIP Conference focused on

Video / Image Processing and Multimedia Communications

EC-VIP-MC 2003

2-5 July 2003 Zagreb, Croatia

INTERNATIONAL PROGRAM COMMITTEE

Driss Aboutajdine, Morocco Maurice Bellanger, France Helmut Boelcskei, Switzerland

Vito Cappellini, Italy

Jonathon Chambers, United Kingdom

Leonardo Chariglione, Italy Hocine Cherifi, France

Anthony G. Constantinides, United Kingdom

Paul Cristea, Romania Zarko Cucej, Slovenia

Anthony Davies, United Kingdom

Marek Domanski, Poland Touradj Ebrahimi, Switzerland Alexandros Eleftheriadis, USA Kalman Fazekas, Hungary Janus Filipiak, Poland

Robert Forchheimer, Sweden

Borko Furht, USA

Moncef Gabbouj, Finland

Mohammed Ghanbari, United Kingdom

Mislav Grgic, Croatia Sonja Grgic, Croatia Ulrich Heute, Germany

Ebroul Izquierdo, United Kingdom

Marko Jagodic, Slovenia Jiri Jan, Czech Republic Aggelos K. Katsaggelos, USA

Piet A. M. Kommers, The Netherlands

Tomislav Kos, Croatia Murat Kunt, Switzerland Sang Uk Lee, Korea

Panos Liatsis, United Kingdom

Ferran Marques, Spain

Wolfgang F. G. Mecklenbraeuker, Austria

Branka Medved Rogina, Croatia

Basil G. Mertzios, Greece Borivoj Modlic, Croatia Marc Moonen, Belgium

Hans-Georg Musmann, Germany

Fernando Pereira, Portugal Maria Petrou, United Kingdom

Ioannis Pitas, Greece Pavol Podhradsky, Slovakia

K. R. Rao, USA K. J. Ray Liu, USA

Gregor Rozinaj, Slovakia Snjezana Rimac-Drlje, Croatia

Bulent Sankur, Turkey Ralf Schaefer, Germany Giovanni Sicuranza, Italy Thomas Sikora, Germany Karolj Skala, Croatia Franc Solina, Slovenia Milan Sonka, USA

Piet Sommen, The Netherlands Marian S. Stachowicz, USA Ryszard Stasinski, Poland Bob Stewart, Scotland Jurij F. Tasic, Slovenia Murat Tekalp, USA

Sergios Theodoridis, Greece Jan Turan, Slovak Republic Joos Vandewalle, Belgium Krzysztof Wajda, Poland Ya-Qin Zhang, China

Branka Zovko-Cihlar, Croatia